Quinn’s Ale House

I will obviously not be writing about every single restaurant at which I eat. And if this little ‘ole Ottawa South pub wasn’t one of the stops along my journey to find the best burgers in Ottawa, I wouldn’t bother blogging it.

It is certainly a cute and comfortable little place, but I was there for the hamburger. I wasn’t particularly drawn to any of the burgers on the menu so I settled on this guy – lettuce, pickles, onions, tomatoes – the usual drill:

2014-04-12 22.08.12

There is no doubt it is a very juicy burger, as you can see from the photo. And that is always a good thing. However, that is about the only good thing I can say. The bottom bun was burnt real good, and not in a good way. Normally, a little grill on the bun is great, but there was something seriously funky about these grill marks. There was such a strong burnt flavour that it permeated the meat and completely ruined the entire burger, which was lacking in flavour to begin with. The fries were no better. They also had a funky taste – more of a greasy funky in this case – as if they were the last batch of the day and had been marinating in overused frying oil.

I recognize this pub is often rated quite high and I’m sure those ‘ole Ottawa South faithful would have my head for this. But I can’t in good conscience give Quinn’s burger my blessing. If you’re looking for a place to have a drink and watch the game, by all means check it out. But the best thing I ate there was the fortune cookie.

 

“Enjoy your own company. If you don’t, who will?”                                                                                              -Fortune Cookie

 

Quinn's on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

