The Flying Banzini

Before going forward with this entry, I should first highlight a major caveat: There are many foods that I don’t like that most people do, which is partly what makes me an unsophisticated and almost completely unqualified food critic. With that in mind, here is my critique of The Flying Banzini, a place that I did not particularly enjoy.

We started our meal off with a couple of their bacon and orange savoury cheesecakes. I wasn’t sure what a savoury cheesecake was. But, as you can see below, they kind of look like undercooked whole wheat buns. Biting into it, I truly had no idea what to expect. What I got was a mouthful of some kind of cheese, and not the sweet kind. I’m not a huge cheese guy, so I had to… return that bite to the plate. This “cheesecake with altitude” (as they call it) probably should have gotten proper clearance before taking off. However, if you do like most cheeses, you may not dislike this.

flying banzini 1

Anxious to move along, I ordered the “that’s amore” pizza with sweet italian sausage, red peppers, onions, basil, and roasted garlic. The pizza looked really good and I usually love italian sausage on my pizza (I’m a meatlovers kinda guy, sometimes hawaiian). Unfortunately, this pizza fell flat. I didn’t get much from the italian sausage. It may have been because it was a sweet italian sausage, but I usually expect a little kick, and I didn’t get it.

No better were the contributions from the other ingredients. But my primary issue was the garlic. Normally, I’m fine with chopped and minced garlic on pizza, pasta, and mixed in sauces. It is sometimes necessary for well-rounded flavours. But I was shocked to find whole cloves of garlic scattered throughout the pizza. When the garlic flavour is too strong, I don’t like it. So you can imagine that whole cloves were just too much for me. And there weren’t just a few. Each slice had at least three or four cloves in it, if not more. I spent a lot of my time digging through each slice, pulling out the garlic. If you love garlic, then this will be no problem for you. But if not, let this be a warning. Even my girlfriend, who loves garlic, thought this was a bit much.

Although the pizza sounded good and looked great, I was very underwhelmed. At least the sweet cheesecake that served as my dessert was half decent, but was probably on par with your average cheesecake. If I had to go back, I’d try one of their sandwiches or paninis. They do claim to be known for their “lofty roast meats”. But I’m not likely to be returning anytime soon. The Flying Banzini is not cleared for takeoff. Did I use that already?

Before

Before

After

After

The Flying Banzini on Urbanspoon

You can check out their website here.

 

Leave a Reply

