Ode to D.C. Part 2

The Big Board

After trying just my second burger in D.C. at The Big Board, I was already beginning to notice a pattern: great bacon, meh patties. Perhaps two restaurants is too small of a sample to get a real pattern. Nonetheless, two joints in a row gave me under-seasoned patties and magnificent bacon. And I really do mean it when I say it was magnificent. Despite the patty being bland, I would still recommend that people go for the bacon, which you will find works very well on The Big Apple burger. I think it might be the only burger on the menu with bacon. And you never know, you may like the patty too. And I must say, it is very nice to find good bacon in the U.S., what with the whole Canadian bacon vs regular bacon crap we all have to navigate when we go south of the border. For real, guys? There’s bacon, then there’s ham. Bacon…everything else…ham. It’s easy people.

2014-05-09 19.20.37

In addition to the burger, I had the chance to try a few of their sides. The salt and pepper shoe stringĀ fries that came with the burger were very good. Aside from the bacon, the fries were the best thing I ate that night. But the other two sides were a tad less impressive. The slaw had pretty good flavour but I thought there was too much red onion. I don’t know how normal it is to have red onion in slaw. But I do know that I can do without it. And if you’re thinking about trying the corn on the cob, you’re probably right to think it, but don’t get your hopes up. It was grilled quite nicely and did have a decent grilled flavour, but it lacked the sweetness I usually expect from good corn on the cob.

2014-05-09 19.24.11

Much like Art & Soul, I would not discourage anyone from trying The Big Board. Anyone who reads this blog will know by now that I am very persnickety when it comes to burgers (have I mentioned that before?), so there is a chance some of you will enjoy this place. I personally can’t say that I hated it, but I likely won’t be returning for a while. But OMG the bacon is so good!

2014-05-09 19.46.11
The Big Board on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

